Ishavskatedralen - Tromsøysund menighet

Arkhangelsk Chamber Orchestra & Ola Asdahl Rokkones

DATO: 9. November 2014 kl. 20:00–22:00
STED: The Arctic cathedral

Arkhangelsk State Chamber Orchestra and saxophonist Ola Asdahl Rokkones give a concert in the Arctic Cathedral having both Norwegian and Russian music on the program. The concert is part of a longer tour in Northern Norway, ending in Oslo and St. Petersburg. The audience will e.g. hear one of the best known works for saxophone and string orchestra of all time, Concerto one Mib” by Alexander Glazunov a work celebrating its 80th anniversary in November this year. String Orchestra play three works alone without saxophone, like Serenade” by Tchaikovsky, “Two Norwegian Melodies, Op.63” by Grieg, and Musica Dolorosa” by Vasks.

Tickets can be purchased via Aurora Ticket, at this link:
Price is 250, – (full price) and 100, (reduced price)

Ola Asdahl Rokkones is one of the few saxophonists who work professionally in both classical music and jazz. He lives in Tromsø and has several times been a soloist with orchestras both in Norway and internationally, most recently in Moscow in March 2014 with the ensemble to Tatjana Grindenko. In 2010 he was selected as Norway’s contribution to the prestigious “European Jazz Orchestra“, and in 2012 he was awarded Tromsø Municipality Culture Award.

Vladimir Onufriev is the permanent conductor of Arkhangelsk State Chamber Orchestra, and has a long and diverse list of achievements. He has been guest conductor at orchestras throughout Russia, as well as orchestras in the United States, Italy and Peru.

Arkhangelsk State Chamber Orchestra was professionalized in 1991 and was granted status as a state institution in 1993. The orchestra has toured in Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Finland.

The project is supported by the Norwegian Barents Secretariat, Norwegian Arts Council and the Festival of North Norway, and is being held on the initiative of Arvid Hanssen-Festival in Lenvik Municipality.